High and Dry, Osprey Style

We had a wild ‘n woolly day yesterday here on the Cape – rain, t’storms, wind, the works!

When the sun returned this morning, I grabbed my camera and headed to the South Harwich osprey nest. There I found Mrs. O, the female osprey, perched high on a pole very close to the nest.

Mrs. O was holding her wings outstretched in an arc shape, almost completely still, those beautiful brown tail feathers gleaming in the warm sunshine.

I figured she’d just had a bath, and was enjoying a little “girl time” off the nest. 😉

There, high atop the pole, Mrs. O looked ever-so-gorgeous, regal in fact.

I watched in awe as she preened meticulously and methodically.

Checking all her feathers over once…

And then again…

To make sure they were all getting nice and dry.

I needed to get home to the studio, and as I looked back I caught Mrs. O staring straight at me.

“Say, do you by any chance work for National Geographic?”

‘Til next time, thanks for visiting me here at Images of Cape Cod!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

I'd Love Your Comments

