Memorial Day, Part IV – Red River Beach

I grew up on Red River beach.

There were four of us kids in the family, and these jetties offered endless hours of nooks and crannies to explore. I remember periwinkles, slimy, squishy seaweed, and yes, more than a few skinned knees! πŸ˜‰

My fondest memories of Red River beach are actually in the creek behind the dunes.

We’d chase minnows, clamber over the creaky wooden bridge.

Made memories to last a lifetime.

So every Memorial Day weekend, braving the crowds, I make it to Red River beach no matter what.

And even tho’ it was too cold for swimming yesterday, everyone had picked out their favorite spots for the day.

Looking out over the water, I could see more fishing boast heading out to cast their nets. Yet it seems no matter what I intend to shoot, it’s the birds who find my lens, no matter what!!Β  πŸ˜‰

I was trying to get a shot of these three eiders. They were swimming away so fast that I had to keep refocusing…

And then I found out — WHY!

It seemed like the place was crawling with dogs, all shapes and sizes.

And each one seemed to have their own special reason for wanting to be there, at the beach.

And although it’s a tiny beach, all in all, people are pretty good about the parking rules during the summer.

Still… there’s always ONE in every crowd who has to push the boundaries.

I got the cold shoulder from this little guy when I reminded him that the parking fines go into effect soon.Β  πŸ˜‰

I found myself smiling as I headed for the car, my head was filled with memories, old and new…

I had just one more stop this Memorial Day weekend, to a very special osprey family that has made their home very near to my own.Β  πŸ˜‰

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

