Merganzer Magic

I love merganzers, especially the red-breasted variety with their amazing crests!

I came upon this beautiful pair late yesterday at Mill Landing.

Now I know they say that often in the bird kingdom it’s the males of the species who really shine.

And this male red-breasted truly was a most dashing fellow, to be sure.

But somehow, for me, it was his Lady Fair who took my breath away…

She was perfectly coiffed, her red button eyes bright and gleaming in the setting sun’s light. Her reddish feathers a stunning contrast to the blue and gold reflections on the water.

The two seemed most taken with one another.

He never let her out of his sight, and I could hear them exchanging gentle murmerings whenever they passed each other by in the swirling current.

Once they spotted me along the shore, they were up and away.

I hope I didn’t ruin their day.

They certainly made mine.

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

