Peace Like a River

I went in search of peace this week. All week long I kept hearing that song over and over again that I knew as a child, I’ve got peace like a river, peace like a river in my soul.

The tide was unusually high at Forest Beach marsh when I arrived there just before sunset on Thursday. The water was a deep, moody blue and the marsh grass a burnt cinnamon color. A sinking sun seemed eager to head to bed for the night as it sent its long shadows out across the marsh.

forestbeachloop930-blogAt a distance I spotted several pairs of geese feeding in the bright sunshine.

forestbeachloop932-blogApparently excited about their tasty finds, the geese swam back and forth, rapidly tipping and dipping.

forestbeachloop933-blogCloser by, a group of brown ducks were quietly enjoying their own evening meal in the shadowy shallows.

forestbeachloop935-blogIt was then that I noticed we were not alone. Another group of Canada geese were busily grooming and feeding along the edge of the marsh as well.

forestbeachloop939-blogAs busy as they all seemed, everything was incredibly quiet, amazingly still.

forestbeachloop940-blogUntil one of them lifted up, flapped its wings in dramatic fashion before settling down again to feed and groom.

forestbeachloop938-blogJust then a song sparrow popped up out of the brambles, shook his tiny head and exclaimed, There’s always a ham in every crowd!

forestbeachloop943-blogThe geese seemed aware of me yet unafraid as I continued to stand there a bit longer, absorbed in their simplest of daily rituals.

forestbeachloop947-blogIt was then that I realized with a smile that I had found that peaceful feeling I had been in search of all week long.

It was right there in front of me, a gift from a tiny gaggle of geese. Flowing just like a river in my soul.

forestbeachloop942-blogThanks for visiting me here at Images of Cape Cod.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

I'd Love Your Comments

