Everyone’s Gone Shellfishin’

Shellfishing season has arrived at Mill Creek here on Cape Cod, and yesterday afternoon the Landing was a-buzz with activity when I arrived!

Almost as soon as I started down the hill…

Blog-MillLanding120A

I spotted the first fisherman, armed with a long handled rake, waders,  and a big black tub.

Blog-MillLanding120

From the looks of his technique, it appeared that he’d done a few times before.

Blog-MillLanding121

A lone seagull, circling back and forth overhead told me that he wasn’t  the only shellfisherman hoping for a good haul that night!

Blog-MillLanding122

Further out, I spotted a second fisherman trying his luck on the muddy flats.

Blog-MillLanding123

Blog-MillLanding124

He, too, had a buddy who was watching his every move, perhaps hoping to be the recipient of a kindhearted scrap or two!

Blog-MillLanding131

Blog-MillLanding129

A third fisherman was slowly hauling his catch to shore…

Blog-MillLanding125

Stopping now and again to check a spot he might have missed…

Blog-MillLanding132

Ahhh… sweet success!

Blog-MillLanding130

Finally, as the light started to wane, the beach walkers were turning for home…

Blog-MillLanding134

And the fishermen were calling it a day, too.

Blog-MillLanding135

And as I turned to make my own way home, I had a hunch there might be more than a few fishermen who would sleep very well – and full – that night.  😉

Blog-MillLanding136

Thanks for visiting me here again at Images of Cape Cod.

‘Til next time!

Sally

I'd Love Your Comments

