Hats Off to the Harwich Stroll

I look forward every year to my hometown’s annual Christmas Stroll, and this year’s surely did not disappoint!

There were festive wreaths on every door…

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-2

Trees of all kinds gleamed with twinkling lights,  full of hope and good cheer.

The sound of Christmas carols filled the air thanks to our every-so-talented town band…

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-11

And some very special carolers.

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-11B

This year there were outdoor Christmas movies!

The perfect spot to catch your breath after all that strolling.

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-12

There were twinkling lights everywhere you turned.

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-30

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-32

And places to get something to eat…

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-14

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-13

Or find that perfect gift for someone on your Christmas list.

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-15

A little something for everyone!  😉

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-16

One of the special highlights me for me is the arrival of the horse-drawn carriage.

You can hear them coming, closer and closer… Clip clop, clip clop, clip clop!

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-8

They arrive at last at the Chamber of Commerce parking lot, and stand very still as eager passengers climb aboard.

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-9

And then off they go again, trotting all around the town!

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-6

Now I should probably mention that I’m not much of a shopper at the Christmas Stroll.

I’m more what you’d call … a window shopper. Captivated by all the pretty baubles as they catch the light through the window panes.

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-29

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-28

And this year I could have sworn I spotted my friend Harry the Great Blue Heron, winking at me from one of those shop windows as I passed by.

I’ll have to speak to him, next time I see him at the marsh.  😉

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-5B-

All of a sudden, I heard someone say that Santa was coming to town…

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-19

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-20

And yes, Frosty, too!

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-18

And at least one tiny reindeer.

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-21

I was glad to see that all of the animals in town were all snug and glowing warm for the night at the church nativity.

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-22

But I have to say that the thing that pleased me the most …

Was that Christmas HATS were back in style!

There were top hats…

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-33

And bowlers…

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-34

And pink feather headdresses with polka dots!

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-37

The hair salon’s Frosty was sporting the neatest felted slouch hat that wobbled as he danced!

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-34B

And I think the little drummer boy’s cap was the tallest one I’ve ever seen…

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-36

Even the town gnome was putting in his two cents…

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-38

And everyone was saying that the best fashion statements, paws down, were going to the dogs!

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-35

And as we turned to head home, this splendid frosted snowman tipped his hat, winked and said,

Hats off to the Harwich Stroll, and to all… a Good Night!!

Blog-HarwichStroll2016-39

Thanks for visiting me here at Images of Cape Cod.

See you next time!

Sally

I'd Love Your Comments

