Turkey Parade

I’ve been telling people all week long… if you meet any turkeys who need a safe haven for Thanksgiving, send ’em on over to our house because we do vegetarian.

And…

Well… I guess someone DID!

Blog-TurkeyDinner1

We could see them from our apartment window, 17 of them in all, right here in our parking lot and looking mighty hungry.

My Thanksgiving wish had come true after all!

And you know? The closer I looked, the more they kinda’ reminded me of the flock of juvenile turkeys we had visit us a few months back for that early Turkey Trot.

Blog-TurkeyDinner3

This gobbler was nice enough to check my tires while he was waiting for appetizers.

Blog-TurkeyDinner2

The rest of the flock looked a bit dazed, almost as if they weren’t sure they had the right address.

Blog-TurkeyDinner4

I hopped down with my camera, and tried to reassure them they had come to the right place.

We had hens and gobblers alike…

Blog-TurkeyDinner5

I got a little nervous when I saw that some feathers were getting a bit ruffled as they waited to be served.

Blog-TurkeyDinner6

Luckily, they found plenty of vittles under the old cedar trees.

Blog-TurkeyDinner7

My! It sure was good to see them EAT!

Blog-TurkeyDinner9

And as they moved about, I couldn’t help but notice how beautiful their feathers were.

Blog-TurkeyDinner10

As a milliner who does not use bird feathers of any kind (I prefer to make my own silk ones as I’ve blogged about in the past). I was bedazzled by the sheer variety of texture and color on display before me!

Blog-TurkeyDinner11

And it was about then that I noticed something happening. Some of the hens had noticed it, too.

Blog-TurkeyDinner8

Why, the males had begun to spread their tail feathers, like giant fans, displaying them for us all to see.

Blog-TurkeyDinner12

Their wing feathers were open wide, too, and almost touched the ground as they strutted oh-so-proudly across the grass.

Blog-TurkeyDinner13A

Looking every inch the classic turkeys of my childhood, I had a tough time containing my excitement enough to keep the camera steady!

Blog-TurkeyDinner13B

One after another the gobblers would start their dance, feathered fans waving, as if they were themselves the floats in some grand parade.

Macy’s, eat your heart out!

Blog-TurkeyDinner19

Some of the hens were politely trying to tell the boys that their calendars were all mixed up, that mating season wasn’t ’til spring.

Blog-TurkeyDinner14

But, well, there was no stopping them. And anyway, who’d want to?

The girls and I decided to sit back and just enjoy the view!

Blog-TurkeyDinner15

And then, just as suddenly as they had come, they were OFF! The whole flock flew up! up! and over the gate, heading for the old deserted cranberry bog out in back of our house.

I saw them as they slowly made their way into the woods, watching ’til I could just barely make them out before they disappeared from view.

Blog-TurkeyDinner18

Heading back to the house, I just couldn’t have been happier.

I knew that for the rest of the day my head was going to be filled with visions of those glorious, sun-kissed feathers that had waved to us in the best Thanksgiving parade ever!

Blog-TurkeyDinner20

I hope you had a wonderful holiday, I know I sure did.

‘Til next time, thanks for visiting me here at Images of Cape Cod!

Sally

One Reply to “Turkey Parade”

I'd Love Your Comments

