Soft Petals in Summer

We’ve settled into our typical “dog days of August” and I’ll tell you, our tiny attic apartment without AC is not the place you’d ever want to be spending them!  😉

I had a huge pile of work in the studio yesterday that needed to be done. Wedding hats were ready for their final hand stitching, the new hats for this season’s “Hats Off to the Horses” of Old Friends were staring at me. awaiting further brainstorms.

And then I heard the mew. My Marmee was talking to me…

Blog-Marmee188

My husband calls her “Soft Petals” which describes her to a T. Without a doubt Marmee is the sweetest, most connecting creature I have ever known.

And she was talking to me, giving me that look. The look that says,

Come follow me…

I followed her into the living room, and I knew what she wanted. I got the stool out, opened the front door, and up she hopped.

Blog-Marmee119

The warm, sultry air swept into the room and I could see that it excited her as much as it did me. I have written about Marmee being my muse, this Milliner’s Muse. Its uncanny how often she senses when I need to stop, when I just need to take a moment and do something different.

Like opening the front door…

Marmee23

We both looked down and saw my Mom busy in her garden…

Her Gingerbelle watching her every move.

Blog-MomGarden3

I checked out my own deck garden, thrilled to see that everything seemed to be thriving in the summer heat.

Just then Marmee looked up, sensing movement somewhere in the bushes…

Blog-Bird126-2C

It never ceases to amaze me, the amusing creatures that you wouldn’t find anywhere else, right here  outside my door…

Blog-Sallygarden1

I stood there beside Marmee, we sniffed the sea breeze together…

Marmee71

I could easily have spent the entire day in the studio. I was all set to do just that.

Until a gentle mew pulled me away, encouraging me to see the world for a little while through her eyes.

Blog-SallyGarden93

And as I headed back to the studio that afternoon, I worked along better than ever. Dreaming of the  in the sunlight, the flowers, my Mom in her garden.

And my sweet Soft Petals in summer…

Blog-MarmeeSnow14

Thank you for visiting me here at Images of Cape Cod!

‘Til next time,

Sally

2 thoughts on “Soft Petals in Summer”

  1. Hi Sally, a good question! My home/apartment is where our two studios are. Tom is a landscape artist, and I have a room for the hatmaking. It’s a total of about 400 square feet, and we share this tiny space with our Marmee. She looks for the quiet spots, outside of where we work, a SMART girl! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

