If At First You Don’t Succeed… Fly, Fly Again

Mornings at Forest Beach marsh have been magical of late.

The high dew points make us all feel miserable, but there’s a light on the marsh in the mornings that bathes everything in a heavenly glow.

Blog-Osprey52Each morning when I get out of the car, my first shot is always of the osprey nest.

Unless of course, someone else grabs my attention first.

Blog-ForestBeachLoop407

The other day I was heading up Osprey Hill like always, this time feeling pulled upward in my climb with every step by a curious, lone cry; shrill and incessant as it pierced the still, thick air.

I looked out at the far nest where three ospreys were perched. It didn’t seem like the cry belonged to them.

Blog-Osprey53

Turning my lens back toward the near nest I saw a single osprey, calling out and fluttering her wings in a most agitated manner.

Blog-Osprey55

Blog-Osprey56Her siblings, perched at the other end of the osprey pole, seemed oblivious to her cries as they continued their preening.

Blog-Osprey57

She turned and hopped into the center of the nest…

Blog-Osprey63

And then lifted up a few inches into the air.

Blog-Osprey60

Almost immediately, she was reaching for the nest again with her great talons.

Blog-Osprey59

Landing safely, she looked for a moment relieved.

But before I knew it she was once again beating the air with her wings, and calling out.

She was going to give it another try.

Blog-Osprey64

I could see the glow of the sun on her feathers as she spread her wings, again and again, as if trying to gain some kind of momentum.

Blog-Osprey67

The second time she managed to get a bit higher off the nest, then once more grabbed for the safety of the nest to steady herself.

Blog-Osprey65

She was safe upon landing, but clearly, being safe on the nest was not her goal.

She stood up along the farthest edge of the nest, as if on tippy-toes…Blog-Osprey66

Spread wide, wide those gorgeous wings one more time…

Blog-Osprey68

And this time with absolute ease she was up, up and away, out over the marsh and out of sight!

Blog-Osprey69

She returned to the nest almost immediately, but still, she had DONE it!

This brave girl was determined to fly, if only for a moment, and her reward was the glorious thrill of first flight…

Blog-Osprey70

She looked back to her siblings, surely they would be equally impressed with her amazing achievement.

Blog-Osprey71

Alas, hmmm, not so much…

Blog-Osprey71A

But I had seen it, and I was clapping wildly for this magnificent bird who just would not give up.

This bird who had just inspired me to feel excited about getting back to my studio to take another crack at a pesky HAT brim I’ve been wrestling with lately!  😉

Blog-Osprey18

Thanks for visiting me here at Images of Cape Cod!

Sally

I'd Love Your Comments

