Sunday Best Strikes Gold!

It’s Sunday and time once again for Sunday Best!

It was a busy week, and I hadn’t been able to get out on many walks. Friday was here before I knew it, and I finally broke free with my camera.

I was feeling pressed to find a worthy candidate for Sunday Best, so I headed to Mill Landing. Always a prime spot for well-dressed personalities.

There I saw Canada’s…

Blog-ForestBeachLoop338

A pair of snowies…

Blog-SnowyEgret-MillLanding5

And my old friend, the osprey.

Blog-Osprey26

They were all so beautiful, yet these feathered Lovelies had just recently been featured for Sunday Best.

What I needed was a new star.

And then I heard a sound, coming from awaaaay up high.

Blog-ForestBeachLoop385

And there he was, way at the tippy top of the old pine tree that overlooks the Landing. A gorgeous goldfinch, singing away with runs and trills like Pavoratti auditioning for the lead.

Blog-ForestBeachLoop386

I’ve always called these little birds, “Finchy-Hattons”, because of the little black caps they wear on their foreheads like tiny fascinators.

I just needed a closer shot to use for my Sunday blog entry.

Closer… just a little closer…

Blog-ForestBeachLoop387

And JUST as I was about to snap the picture, our golden boy decided he needed just one more bit of grooming to look his absolute very best.

Blog-ForestBeachLoop388

He was finally ready for his closeup.

Blog-ForestBeachLoop389

I’d found my pot o’gold for Sunday Best!

Thanks for visiting me here at Images of Cape Cod.

‘Til next time!

Sally

I'd Love Your Comments

